City Council: 2022 - 2024

City Council

Raleigh's Governing Body

The City Council is Raleigh's governing body, consisting of eight members who are elected for two-year terms. Three of the members, including the mayor, are elected at large, while the other members are elected from five districts: A, B, C, D, and E. The City Council sets City policy, enacts laws and adopts the City budget each year.




Raleigh Municipal Building
2nd Floor
222 W. Hargett St.
Raleigh, NC 27601


Chief of Staff
Council Staff
Mayor Staff
All City Council Members
* For Individual Council Members, see below.




Find Your Council Member and District

To locate your council district, enter your street address. If you live in Raleigh, you'll find your City Council District and council member.

Strategic Plan

On April 14, 2015, City Council adopted the Strategic Plan which includes six key focus areas:

  • Arts and Cultural Resources;
  • Economic Development and Innovation;
  • Growth and Natural Resources;
  • Organizational Excellence;
  • Transportation and Transit; and
  • Safe, Vibrant and Healthy Community.

Learn about the Strategic Plan

Our MISSIONTo build a stable platform of evolving services for our community through which we champion positive and sustainable growth and realize visionary ideas for all.

Our VISIONTo pursue world-class quality of life by actively collaborating with our community towards a fulfilling and inspired future for all.