Arts Leadership, Planning, and Impact

Raleigh Arts


Jump To:

 
Leadership Raleigh Arts Plan Economic Impact of the Arts

Leadership

Staff

Name Job Title Email Phone Number
Sarah Powers Executive Director sarah.powers@raleighnc.gov 919-996-4685
Sarah Corrin Arts Grant Director sarah.corrin@raleighnc.gov 919-996-4686
Belva Parker Arts Program Director belva.parker@raleighnc.gov 919-996-4683
Stacy Bloom Rexrode Curator of Exhibitions and Collections stacy.bloom-rexrode@raleighnc.gov 919-996-4687
Kelly McChesney Public Art Director kelly.mcchesney@raleighnc.gov 919-996-5657
Eliza Kiser Pullen Arts Center Director eliza.kiser@raleighnc.gov 919-996-4895
Julia Meder Sertoma Arts Center Director julia.meder@raleighnc.gov 919-996-2329

Public Art and Design Board

The Public Art and Design Board supports Public Art by developing policy, reviewing projects, advising artists and project managers, and by encouraging community engagement with public art to enhance Raleigh's vitality.

Please join us at one of our meetings. For more information or to request an item for the Public Art and Design Board agenda, contact Raleigh Arts at 919-996-3610.

Meetings are held on the last Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in Room 202 of the Raleigh Municipal Building.

Arts Commission

The Arts Commission serves as the official advisory body and advocates for the arts to the City Council. The commission's goal is to connect Raleigh citizens to the arts and continually build the creative community for both residents and visitors.

Please join us at one of our meetings. For more information or to request an item for the Arts Commission agenda, contact Raleigh Arts at 919-996-3610 or arts.commission@raleighnc.gov.

Meetings are held every third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in Room 305 of the Raleigh Municipal Building.

Raleigh Arts Plan

The City of Raleigh’s Office of Raleigh Arts led the development of the Raleigh Arts Plan, a ten-year master plan to strengthen arts and culture for all of the City’s many communities and people. The planning process began in July 2014 and ended with City Council adoption of the Plan in February 2016.

Learn more about the Raleigh Arts Plan


Economic Impact of the Arts

The nonprofit arts and culture industry generates $531 million in annual economic activity in the City of Raleigh, supporting 18,894 full-time equivalent jobs and generating $53 million in local and state government revenues, according to the Arts & Economic Prosperity 5 National Economic Impact Study (AEP5), an economic impact study conducted by Americans for the Arts.

In addition to spending by organizations, the nonprofit arts and culture industry leverages $364 million in event-related spending by its audiences. As a result of attending a cultural event, attendees often eat dinner in local restaurants, pay for parking, buy gifts and souvenirs, and pay a babysitter. What’s more, attendees from out of town often stay overnight in a local hotel. In Raleigh, these dollars support 10,837 full-time equivalent jobs and generate $38.6 million in local and state government revenues.

Learn more about the City of Raleigh's arts economic impact study.
 

 

Lead Department:
Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources
Service Categories:
Raleigh Arts