Historic Property Tax Credit

You may qualify for tax credits

If your property is located in a National Register Historic District, you may qualify for federal or state income tax credits toward rehabilitating your historic residential or commercial building. Raleigh has several National Register Historic Districts, including:

  • Battery Heights
  • Bloomsbury
  • Blount Street
  • Boylan Heights
  • Cameron Park
  • Cameron Village
  • Capitol Square
  • Capitol Heights
  • Crabtree Park Recreation Demonstration Area
  • Depot
  • Dix Hill
  • East Raleigh-South Park
  • Fayetteville Street
  • Five Points
  • Glenwood-Brooklyn
  • Hayes Barton
  • Hi-Mount
  • Longview Gardens
  • Madonna Acres
  • Maiden Lane
  • Moore Square
  • Mordecai Place
  • Oakwood
  • Roanoke Park
  • Rochester Heights
  • St. Augustine’s College Campus
  • St. Mary’s College
  • Vanguard Park
  • West Raleigh

The program is administered by the NC State Historic Preservation Office. Fact sheets and staff contacts are on the SHPO website. For general information, contact the Planning and Development Department’s Historic Preservation Unit at historicpreservation@raleighnc.gov or 919-996-4478, or visit the Raleigh Historic Development Commission (RHDC) website.

Related Events

  All events