Two people stand at voting booths filling out ballots

Vote Local Raleigh – It Matters!

City Council sets policies that shape Raleigh

Jump To:

Who's Running? Voter Registration & Polling Places Early Voting

Raleigh City Council voted in closed session to ask the General Assembly to permanently move its elections to even-numbered years. Permission was granted and the City of Raleigh Municipal Election will be held the same day as the General Election: Tuesday, November 8, 2022.  North Carolina voters can also vote before Election Day. The early voting period runs from October 20, 2022 through November 5, 2022.

Who's Running?

The City Council is Raleigh's governing body, consisting of eight members who are elected for two-year terms. Three of the members, including the mayor, are elected at large (this means they represent the entire city). Each of the other members is elected to represent one of five districts: A, B, C, D, and E. Each district covers a geographic region of the City.  The City Council sets City policy, enacts laws, and adopts the City budget each year. All eight seats will be on the ballot in 2022.

Mary-Ann Baldwin (incumbent),
Daquanta Copeland,
Terrance Randolph Ruth,

At-Large (2 seats)
James Bledsoe,
Joshua Bradley,
Stormie Forte (currently represents District D),
Anne Franklin,
Jonathan Melton (incumbent),
John Odom (no website available)
Portia Rochelle, 

District A
Mary Black-Branch,
Whitney Hill,
Catherine Lawson,

District B
Min Lee,
Jakob Lorberblatt,
Megan Patton,
Jeremiah-Frank Pierce,

District C
Corey Branch (incumbent),
Frank Fields,
Wanda Hunter, 

District D
Robert Baumgart,
Jane Harrison,
Joseph Kennedy,
Jennifer Truman,

District E
Christina Jones,
David Knight (incumbent),

Voter Registration & Polling Places

It is quick and easy to find out if you are registered to vote by filling out this NC Board of Elections form. You can also find polling places, sample ballot when available, absentee ballot information, and your voter history.

Early Voting

Early voting begins October 20, 2022, and runs through November 5, 2022. The schedule for early voting is as follows:

  • Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, 8 a.m. - 3 p.m.
  • Sunday, 1 p.m. - 6 p.m. 

Early voting sites can be found on the county website

Add Election Day as an event to your calendar.