testing images

Raleigh Union Station

City Council Swearing-in Ceremony is Dec. 5 at Union Station

City Council Swearing-In Starts at 6 p.m.

Members of the 2022-2024 Raleigh City Council Term will be sworn into office at a ceremony Monday, Dec. 5, at Raleigh Union Station. Mayor Mary-Ann Baldwin will preside as she and seven Council members, including four newly elected members, take their oaths of office. 

The event will be livestreamed on the City YouTube channel.

Raleigh is a council-manager form of government and the mayor and seven City Council members were elected in November to serve a two-year term. Their first regular City Council meeting is Tuesday, Dec. 6 at 1 p.m. and will be livestreamed on the City's website and YouTube channel.

Members of the 2022-2024 City Council Term are:

  • Mary-Ann Baldwin, Mayor
  • Jonathan Melton - City Council, At-Large
  • Stormie Forte - City Council, At-Large
  • Mary Black - City Council, District A
  • Megan Patton - City Council, District B
  • Corey Branch - City Council, District C
  • Jane Harrison - City Council, District D
  • Christina Jones - City Council, District E

The Swearing-in Ceremony begins at 6 p.m. and is open to the public. Free parking is available for the event in the Dillon Parking Deck, a short walk across West Street from Union Station. Motorists please use Harrington Street entrance, next to 281 S. Harrington Street. Details can be found on our parking map.

After the formal program, there will be a performance by the musical group The Veldt. Special guests include Canine Companions, service dogs in training; and Hamilton the Pig, who brings luck to the Carolina Hurricanes. 

Associated Event




City Council Office

Raleigh Union Station