Piedmont Laureate

Raleigh Arts

Jump To:

About the Program 2021 Piedmont Laureate: Kelly Starling Lyons 2022 Piedmont Laureate Program: Call for Fiction Writers

About the Program

The Piedmont Laureate program is co-sponsored by the City of Raleigh Arts Commission, Durham Arts Council, Orange County Arts Commission, and United Arts Council of Raleigh & Wake County. Its primary goal is to promote awareness and heighten appreciation for excellence in the literary arts in the Piedmont region of North Carolina. The program is dedicated to building a literary bridge for residents to come together and celebrate the art of writing, enriching the lives of all our citizens.

Each year, a Piedmont Laureate is appointed for a one-year term and conducts the following activities in Durham, Orange, and Wake counties:

  • Readings at designated public sites such as libraries, arts centers, schools, universities, and other community gathering places;
  • Workshops or other types of outreach that encourage creative writing for all age groups;
  • Online activities that promote literature and encourage creative writing.
  • Promotion of literature at select public events;
  • Events that bring attention to literature in less traditional settings; and
  • Other original activities that expand appreciation of the literary arts.

Learn more about the Piedmont Laureate program

2021 Piedmont Laureate: Kelly Starling Lyons

2021 Piedmont Laureate Kelly Starling Lyons stands in front of book shelf

Kelly Starling Lyons, a Raleigh-based children’s literature writer, has been selected as the region's 2021 Piedmont Laureate. During 2021, Starling Lyons will appear at virtual programming, including workshops, reading programs, and speaking engagements throughout Wake, Durham and Orange counties.

2022 Piedmont Laureate Program: Call for Fiction Writers

Piedmont Laureates Jaki Shelton Green(2009), Zelda Lockhart (2010), Scott Huler (2011), Ian Finley (2012), John Bemis (2013), Carrie Knowles (2014), James Maxey (2015), Katy Munger (2016), Mimi Herman (2017), Nancy Peacock (2018), David Merconi (2019), Tamara Kissane (2020), Kelly Starling Lyons (2021)

The Piedmont Laureate program is accepting applications from writers of fiction. Authors must be residents of Wake, Durham, or Orange counties. The deadline to apply is August 25, 2021, by midnight.

Learn more about the 2022 Piedmont Laureate Program Call for Fiction Writers



Belva Parker
Arts Program Director

Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources
Service Categories:
Raleigh Arts
Board, Commission or Committee:
Arts Commission
Related Services:
Arts ProgramsArtist Calls



Related Projects

  All projects