View of book spines

Postponed: A Journey Through Maya Angelou's Life Reading Series

Take a journey through Maya Angelou’s life as we read and discuss her autobiographies in chronological order throughout the year at Walnut Terrace Center! Join us for these free book discussions.

Register online via RecLink using the barcode below or in person at any City of Raleigh community center. 

Postponed: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (1969)
New Date and Times to Be Announced

Describes Ms. Angelou’s early years. This coming-of-age-story illustrates how strength of character and a love of literature can help overcome racism and trauma.

Gather Together in My Name (1974)
Tuesday, May 19, 6 to 8 p.m.

This book follows Angelou, called Rita, from the ages of 17 to 19. The book "depicts a single mother's slide down the social ladder into poverty and crime.” The title of the book is taken from the Bible, but it also conveys how one black female lived in the white-dominated society of the U.S. following the Second World War.
Barcode: 256885

Singin' and Swingin' and Gettin' Merry Like Christmas (1976)
Tuesday, August 18, 6 to 8 p.m.

Set between 1949 and 1955, this book spans Angelou's early twenties. In this volume, Angelou describes her struggles to support her young son, form meaningful relationships, and forge a successful career in the entertainment world. 
Barcode: 256887

The Heart of a Woman (1981)
Tuesday, November 17, 6 to 8 p.m.

Recounts events in Angelou's life between 1957 and 1962 and follows her travels to California, New York City, Cairo, and Ghana as she raises her teenage son, becomes a published author, becomes active in the civil rights movement, and becomes romantically involved with a South African anti-apartheid fighter. One of the most important themes of The Heart of a Woman is motherhood, as Angelou continues to raise her son. The book ends with her son leaving for college and Angelou looking forward to newfound independence and freedom.
Barcode: 256891 

More Program Information